Sewer Maintenance

About Us:

The Department of Water, Division of Sewer Maintenance operates and maintains a wastewater collection system (WWCS) and municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) within the corporate limits of the City of Dayton. The WWCS is comprised of a network of gravity piping system and pumping stations that convey wastewater to an advanced wastewater treatment plant also owned and operated by the Department of Water, Division of Wastewater Treatment. The MS4 is comprised of a gravity piping system and pumping stations that convey storm water runoff to rivers, streams and waterways during rain events. The Division of Sewer Maintenance also operates a series of flood control pumping stations and flood control valves/gates constructed as part a levee system along our major river corridors through the downtown area.

View our organization chart





Our Mission is to enhance and maintain the City's Sanitary and Storm Sewer System in the most reliable and cost effective manner. We are committed to demonstrating the highest quality maintenance standards in the industry to ensure continued health, safety, and welfare of our entire community.

Contact Information:

For sewer related complaints: (937) 333-4915 (24 hours/7 days per week)

Michael Powell, Division Manager  333-4915

Operations Coordinator  333-4849

Office Supervisor II  333-5026

Pump Station, Storm TV Inspections  333-4921

East Side Repair  333-4920

East Side Repair  333-4936

West Side Cleaning  333-4919

West Side Repair  333-4918

Hours of Operation:

7:00 A.M.-3:30 P.M. Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday, Sunday, and Holidays

Facts about the Division

  • The Dayton Sewer System came into existence due to a City Council decision in 1889 to pave the downtown streets. Construction on the system began in 1890 with early maintenance provided by the Sewer Inspection Office.
  • The Division of Sewer Maintenance was established in 1908 and currently maintains over 600 miles of Storm Sewers and approximately 740 miles Sanitary Sewers.
  • There are 29 wastewater and storm water pumping stations throughout the City of Dayton.
  • The Division of Sewer Maintenance is divided into four major categories: Sewer Cleaning, Repair, Pump Station/CCTV Operation, and Equipment Maintenance.
  • The Cleaning section uses sewer rodding machines, straight flushers, and combination jet/ vac units to remove obstructions in the sewer lines and to ensure a steady/consistent flow to the Wastewater Treatment Plant.
  • The Repair section repairs damaged sewer(s), install private laterals within the right-of-way, and replaces damaged catch basins and manholes.
  • A Sewer Investigation Crew provides 24-hour service to respond to routine and emergency complaints from citizens.
  • The CC TV Inspection section does internal inspections of sewers using camera and video recording equipment to locate problems from within the system.

Page last modified: 2014/03/24.  Documents contained on this page may have been modified at a different time.